Airmen or individuals applying for aeromedical certification with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) must meet certain mental standards set forth under 14 C.F.R §§ 67.107, 67.207, and 67.307 of the Federal Aviation Regulations. If you are applying for medical certification with the FAA and do not meet the standards set forth under these regulations, the FAA will deny your application.

The mental standards, regardless of whether the applicant is applying for first (1st), second (2nd), or third (3rd) class medical certification, require, in part, that the applicant have no established medical history or clinical diagnosis of any of the following: personality disorder severe enough to have repeatedly manifested itself by overt acts, a psychosis, a bipolar disorder, substance dependence, substance abuse within the preceding two (2) years, or any other personality disorder, neurosis, or other mental condition that makes the person unable to safely perform the duties or exercise the privileges of the airman certificate applied for or held.

If you have been deferred by your Aviation Medical Examiner (AME) or denied by the FAA due to a history of mental health conditions, Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRI) medication use, alcohol use, or illicit drug use, The Ison Law Firm is standing by to advocate for your eligibility to hold a medical certificate.

Contact The Pilot Lawyer for a confidential case review.

No legal issue or problem is too small or too large for The Ison Law Firm. Help is only a phone call away!

Call: Toll-Free 855-FAA-1215

Address: PO Box 6342 Lakeland, FL 33807

Email: |

Office Hours: Mon - Thu, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM (Eastern Time Zone)
Fri, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM (Eastern Time Zone)
Messages left for attorneys after these business hours will be addressed the following business day, during business hours

The Ison Law Firm offers FAA enforcement defense and medical certification representation worldwide!